2012 Australian Shadows Awards Now Open

The Australian Shadows are annual literary awards presented by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) and judged  on the overall effect – the skill, delivery, and lasting resonance – of  published horror fiction written or edited by an Australian/New  Zealand/Oceania resident of citizen.

The Australian Horror Writers Association is pleased to announce the opening of the 2012 Australian Shadows awards. The awards are open to submission of any horror fiction published, or anthologies edited, by an Australian/New Zealand/Oceania resident or citizen in the 2012 calendar year. Submissions close February 28th 2013.

The Shadows are awarded to the stories and collections that best typify the horror genre, delivering a sense of ‘creeping dread’, leaving the reader with chills and a reluctance to turn out the light.
Past winners of the Shadows include a who’s who of Australian Horror Writers; Lee Battersby, Terry Dowling, Paul Haines, Brett McBean, Kirstyn McDermott, Bob Franklin, Kaaron Waaren, Will Elliott, Deborah Biancotti, Amanda Spedding.

The award has five categories: Novel; Long Fiction (novellas and novelettes); Short Fiction (short stories); Collection (single author collections); and Edited Publication (anthologies and magazine issues).

Judging is by a group of six published writers well familiar with the Horror genre – B. Michael Radburn, Greg Chapman, Jenny Blackford, Gerry Huntman, Steve Gerlach and Stephen Clark.

Details can be found on the AHWA website at:

All enquiries to Robert Datson australianshadows@australianhorror.com

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
This entry was posted in Awards, News by Felicity Dowker. Bookmark the permalink.

About Felicity Dowker

Melbourne-based writer Felicity Dowker is a multiple finalist and/or winner of various awards for her short stories and reviews, including the Ditmar, Chronos, Aurealis, and Australian Shadows Awards. Around 30 of Felicity’s stories have been published in Australian and international magazines, anthologies, and podcasts, most recently including Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror Volume 2 edited by Liz Grzyb and Talie Helene from Ticonderoga Publications, and Circus: Fantasy Under the Big Top edited by Ekaterina Sedia from Prime Books. Felicity’s debut short story collection Bread and Circuses was launched by Ticonderoga Publications in June 2012 – find out more at http://www.indiebooksonline.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=118&osCsid=b5c32d273115fb7255450d035e6b6205.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *